You are here: Home / About Us

Ely Public Library

The Mission of the Ely Public Library is to enable all residents of our service area to have free and equal access to the resources that satisfy their educational, cultural, informational and recreational needs. The library shall make every effort to promote awareness among all residents of the availability of these resources to fulfill their needs.

Location, Contact & Hours: 

P.O. Box 249
1595 Dows Street
Ely, IA 52227

Phone: 319-848-7616     Fax:  319-848-4056

Sunday Closed
Monday 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tuesday 1:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wednesday 1:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thursday 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.


  Library Staff:

Sarah L. Sellon, Director
Madeline Jarvis, Youth Services 
Paula Bradway, Technical Services   
Carolyn Wilson, Assistant Librarian 
Becky Cheesman, Assistant Librarian   
Jennifer Hawks, Janitor

  Library Board:

Sandra Winterowd  President
Lisa Hinton Vice President
Dan Whitaker Secretary
Jim Higdon Trustee
Christy Frese Rural Trustee
Annette Wieneke Rural Trustee
Amy Clefisch Trustee